Does your taste in music undermine your intelligence?

Dia duit mo chairde idirlín álainn 🙂

Todays post is something a little different but something that I feel is so relevant in world we live in at the minute.

Something I find that happens all to often is that people belittle you over your taste in music. As if who you listen to on your ipod or radio defines everything about who you are and what you should be and to be fair it really annoys me.

For example the first thing that pops to my mind is if you like One Direction you are automatically put into the bracket as a brainless, over obsessed, crazed 12 year old.

I do understand how you could argument that a lot of One Directions fanbase are definitely very passionate about the band but I mean I know a lot of people my age that are just a bunch of  normal girls who just enjoy their music but feel like they can’t express it because if they do, people will think little of them and make a laugh of it.

Some people want nothing more than to shout about how much they love one direction but feel like they can’t, why is that?

Your taste in music does not undermine your intelligence nor does your love for things that teenage girls love make you less mature or less socially aware. – Halsey.

Why do people do it? I mean why does it really matter to you what somebody else’s preference is? Shouldn’t we be more worried about our own lives and work on improving ourselves instead of trying to make a laugh out of something that makes a person happy.

The one line that gets me every time is ‘they are just a band’. I have had it said to me numerous times I couldn’t keep count. Well yes obviously they are a band and obviously it is more than likely that they don’t know every single one of their fans but for some people out there they are not ‘just a band’.

They are a life line, a glimmer of hope for some. We do not know what goes on behind closed doors in other peoples lives and those people who are ‘just a band’ are what helps to get some people through the day and those ‘strangers’ give them something positive to get them through the hard times. Some of these people have saved so many lives so how can people belittle it so much?

b4e5e386447da8a1c7be2219f49128e3

I love 5 Seconds of Summer and I get shit for it all the time, I don’t give a fuck anymore but I used to. Not many people know why I love them so much but maybe if they knew they wouldn’t make a laugh of it so often. Liking 5SOS or for others who like One Direction doesn’t take away from your life experiences, your still a person. Your still going to experience everything that a teenager faces so what’s the big deal?

Moral of this blog post – If somebody has found something in their life that makes the day a little better, a little brighter then honestly what is the harm of that? It doesn’t make you any less of a person just because of who you listen to.

——

What do you guys think? Have you ever felt like you’ve been belittled for who you listen to? Let me know.

Till next time.

Danielle xo

One thought on “Does your taste in music undermine your intelligence?

  1. I read something online lately that said people who listened to ‘The Counting Crows’ were very intelligent people.
    I don’t agree with any of that nonsense, and my music taste is the most random collection of genres! Anything from heavy metal, punk, to The Counting Crows, to pop songs like Taylor Swift make my ipod. What does that say about my intelligence I wonder?

    Like

Leave a comment