My X Factor Experience!

Hi guys and gals.

I am back with another blog post today.

I wanted to share with you guys my X Factor experience. My reason for doing so is simply because of how people think you just walk into an audition room with Simon Cowell and Louis Walsh and your either through or your not, well that is not how the case is.. At All! So I will share my very short but sweet experience with auditioning! 🙂

Basically I auditioned for the X Factor back in 2013. How you applied was you filled in an application form online, uploaded a video of you singing and submit it to them. If you were successful you would get an e-mail with your date, time and place for your audition. (btw I think they just automatically give you an audition I don’t think they even watch the videos haha).

Anyway my audition was suppose to be in London, England and was at something like 8:00 AM which meant I would have to que from about 6 in the morning never mind getting ready!!

11198752_10152876629095875_2095060704_n

I was a bit iffy about going the whole way over to England for an audition especially with it being the X Factor you really wouldn’t know what to expect it could have ended up being a complete waste of a lot of money.

Luckily enough for me I found out that a TalkTalk mobile audition would be coming to Dublin which suited so much better and saved me about 400 euro.

On the day of the audition myself, my sister and my two friends set of to Dublin around 8 o clock in the morning and arrived at the venue in Dublin around 10 AM.

253702_10151383747140875_1378537738_n 579700_10151383747035875_1936577462_n

The que was already massive there were at least 200 people there at this stage and it was already SO early! The audition was held at a pub in Dublin City Center. (Cannot remember the name of it for the life of me!)

I was absolutely shitting myself I had never done an audition before at this stage, I was only starting to come out of my shadow with my voice so this was so nerve wrecking for me I felt so sick.

Myself and my friends qued outside for about 3 hours when eventually we got in the doors thinking we were nearly there, well shock, we weren’t, there room was packed with at least 150 people! So we stood for a further 2/3 hours waiting…

The craic was actually really good everyone was singing, playing guitars, we met loads of people and got chatting to a lot of new faces who were all just equally as nervous as me so it was good to have someone to share the nerves with!

As I got closer and closer to the audition room my heart was beating so fast and I had sweaty hands and everything is still a bit of a blur from there on haha. I had seen about 20 people come out from their auditions and they had all received no’s which put the fear of god in me as some of them were so bloody good!!!

11186435_10152876629300875_1305472768_n

It was my turn to go in next and just as I was about to go into the room the judge came out to tell me she was just going to have a sandwich and would be back in 10 minutes, A SANDWICH??? At this time??? Another ten minutes standing here with sweaty palms!!!! Surely she was having a laugh, my life was flashing before my eyes and she wanted to go for a bloody sandwich 😦 😦

Anyway in the time she went and had her sambo I had time to gather myself and chill out, it was time for me to face the music. (literally)

I went into the room and the judge well when I say judge she was actually a producer of the show and was probably no more than 3 years older than me. I introduced myself, told her a little about me and she told me to go ahead and sing. I sang If I Cant Make You Love Me accapella and I shook like a leaf hahaha.

Well I sang for about 30 seconds and she was stopped me mid song and said no, sorry. I don’t really remember much else of what she said because I was devastated and my heart sank to the bottom of my feet. 😦

That was my X Factor dream over with hahaha. It is funny when I look back now but I was so upset after that especially that I had qued for 6 hours to sing for 30 seconds, that was very dishearting. It did put me off singing and entering competitions for awhile but after I stopped feeling sorry for myself I got back on it!

11096395_10152812397875875_6995035949279310312_n

If I had of went through that day I would of had to come back later that day and sing another song, then return later that week again to sing again. If I had of been successful after that I would have had to go to London and do an audition with some more producers and if I had of been successful after all that then I would have eventually gotten to meet Simon!

It is a very very very long process and you definitely need to be very confident in yourself and believe in yourself.

Funnily enough my sister entered me into it again this year and I had an audition in Croke Park a few weeks ago, I never attended it simply just because as much as I love singing and music, The X Factor is not the way I want to go about doing it.

11071098_1041585779189472_8179883330971116474_n

Little sneaky bit of shameless self promo here – I am going to link my YouTube channel below and if any of you want to check out some of my videos then please do and let me know what you think! 🙂 I don’t use it very much, just for an odd cover here and there.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCa8xnywehvfWhqTmsy73lpw

Have any of you guys ever auditioned for a talent show before and have you been successful in doing so? Share your experiences with me in the comments below and let me know!

Till next time,

Danielle xo

Leave a comment